High School Rejects Turned Summer Reading

reading list

When I was in high school I was assigned an array of books to read that I actually never really read. I skimmed them and looked for the key terms in order to find the answers to the chapter review questions but I rarely ever actually read a book I was assigned from cover to cover. I guess I didn’t feel as though I had time since I played two sports, worked, hung out with my friends, and really just didn’t feel like it.

Since I have gotten a little older and am no longer a bratty little high school know it all, I now realize the importance of reading and absorbing information. Information is knowledge and can profoundly influence what direction your life goes in. That is why I have decided to read all the books that I neglected to read in high school. All the books I tossed to the side in exchange for scrolling through their densely worded spark notes pages.

I harbor a more genuine appreciation for literature than I ever have and along with reading some of the greatest stories ever told I want to pay homage to the teachers who worked so diligently to help me grasp the concepts of these age old tales. Yes it is years later but at least their words and effort are not completely going to waste.

I will begin with Hemingway, Coetzee, and Miller and end with Wilde, Lee and only regretting that I had not read these great novels sooner.

“Read more, learn more, change the globe” – Nas

What books are you planning on reading this summer?

I hope you all have a lovely day!

– Krystal

This entry was posted in Books, Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to High School Rejects Turned Summer Reading

  1. I did the same when I was in high school. In fact I cheated, I used “Cliff Notes.”
    Now I’m reading books I should have really taken seriously while I was attending school. Reading these books you will realize the reason they were on the reading list.

    Nice piece, it brought back memories.

    • moorekrystal says:

      Hahah yea I used cliff notes sometimes as well and you are so right. Now I understand why we were assigned to read them in the first place! Thank you for stopping by my blog!

      – Krystal

Leave a Reply

