A Piece of My Past: Soccer Tournament Pins

DSC_0040
DSC_0035
DSC_0049
I wanted to do a segment in which I showcase a piece of my past every once in a while on my blog! For my first feature I wanted to show some of the soccer pins that I received when I was just a little tike and played for the American Youth Soccer Organization.

I played soccer from the time I was 7 till the time that I was 18 and I always really enjoyed it. I signed up originally because everyone and their mother played soccer around me and I continued playing because I developed a sincere love for the game. I met some of my best friends in the world on the soccer field and I am so glad thankful for all the experiences that I had throughout my time as a soccer player.

As I got older and practiced more I got a lot better and made the All Star Team every season that I played. All Star’s was made up of two or three of the best soccer players from each team in your age group. We traveled all around SoCal often playing three games a day. We stayed in hotels, went out to dinner together, and sometimes even won these tournaments. No matter if you won the entire tournament or came in last place, every girl went home with a shiny metal pin baring them emblem of the tournament. We all would pin them on our custom made soccer backpacks with our names stitched on the backs, as almost a nonverbal way to communicate to all the other girls at the tournaments that we had paid our dues and were experienced players and also because they looked cool.

My time as a soccer player has come and gone but I kept all my pins as a way to remind me of all the places that I went, friends that I made, and how hard I worked just as a little kid.

Do you guys still have any pieces from your childhood that you can not part with? I would love to know if so!

I hope you guys are having a lovely weekend!

Krystal

This entry was posted in Art, Events, Lifestyle, People, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Piece of My Past: Soccer Tournament Pins

  1. Di says:

    You have great brows! Can you do a post on how you do them?

Leave a Reply

