The Importance of Jotting Down your Thoughts

DSC_0003
Anyone who has read this blog for like one minute is aware that I have an obsession with jotting down my thoughts and ideas. I always have multiple journals at one time and whenever I have an idea that I think is absolutely brilliant I have to write it down right away. I am not sure why I do this, its kind of something that I have always done since I was little and unlike wetting the bed I thought it was a good character trait that I should maintain throughout adulthood.

At any given time I have a motivational journal, daily planner, journals for the projects that I am working on, (including my blog) and even a diary. It seems like every element of my life is written in some journal on the floor in my room. Clearly I care for them dearly.

Although, I occasionally can not find these journals, like when my sister stole my diary and I had a mental breakdown (that was last week) I take the act of handwritten journal jointing (like the name?) very seriously. I believe that it has genuinely helped me throughout my life organize my thoughts and most importantly not forget all my fabulous ideas. Like an app that allows you to take a picture of an actor and see what movies they have appeared in. However, that could lead to pandemonium and people would become paparazzi and we already have enough of those…I can see Russell Crowe now screaming in the streets saying “I’m the f$%#ing Gladiator, how do you not know that?” So not all my ideas are very good.

Anyways, the real reasons why I believe writing down your thoughts is very important are the same reasons that everyone who has ever written anything believes that they are important. Because you now have created a place to work on and perfect your idea. You have taken the time to create something that you believe in and can later go back and refine until you have shaped it into what you want it to be. Because we have thousands of thoughts everyday and there is no way that we can keep track of all of them and maintain a healthy and happy lifestyle. So we can have something to look back on in our old and lovely age and say “oh my! I was crazy in my twenties!” And because we are all innovative creators with brilliant ideas and thoughts we don’t necessarily want to share with everyone via social media. Clearly, I don’t apply to that one.

All in all this post was written to encourage everyone to write more, especially by hand, that concept is going out the window faster than America’s lustrous feelings for James Franco and its sad. Jot down a doodle or two and you will be happy that you did so later on in life. Also, it may help you see plainly what you value and find important.

I hope you all have a lovely hump day!

Krystal

This entry was posted in Books, Inspiration, Lifestyle, Organization, Photography, Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Importance of Jotting Down your Thoughts

  1. I absolutely agree with you! I urge pretty much everyone I know to keep journals for much of the same reasons. I have diaries dating back from when I was fifteen that are fascinating to read now, just to see how drastically even the way a person thinks changes. And every time I have a little creative slump, I go back to my journals and revive something that I’ve half worked out.

    • moorekrystal says:

      That’s so cool that you still have your journals from when you were 15! Going back to your old stuff is definitely a good idea when you need a little inspiration 🙂

      -Krystal

  2. fujixman says:

    Certainly a good idea. Not sure that anyone would want to see all my “thoughts” on paper though, lol.

    • moorekrystal says:

      Haha I am sure that they are not too bad!

      • fujixman says:

        No, not to bad. Maybe just weird. Anyhow, i like your post about fitness. I need to lose pounds to. 6′ 4″, 280 lbs… i’m considered obese when i calculate my BMI. I used to be 190lbs, but that was 13 years ago,lol. So, i need to get motivated this summer. Maybe more photo treks 😉

  3. lily says:

    love the notebook! please check out my blog http://www.lilysbeautyroom.blogspot.co.uk/ and maybe comment!
    thankyou xo

Leave a Reply

