5 Things I Am Grateful For This Week!

New flower

I have been doing a lot of soul searching recently and I believe that it has actually paid off. Not to say that it hasn’t paid off in the past, but for some reason (and this could be in part because of my blog) I just feel very different about life than I previously have and I am more excited for the future than ever! In light of this new found confidence and self realization I decided I wanted to share a little ritual that I do to help me look on the brighter side of things, and always stay positive. I do this by writing down a list of things that I am grateful for. This list is appropriately called, a gratitude journal.

I have been keeping a gratitude journal for sometime now (yes, I have a lot of journals) and on the days that I remember to write in it (which recently has been more often than not) I write down five things that I am grateful for before I go to bed. These things range from me saying that I am grateful to have had the opportunity to eat that delicious taco my sister bought me, to me saying that I am grateful to have two properly functioning legs. Pretty much I am grateful for anything from simple, everyday pleasures to just being able to walk, and everything around and in-between.

I think doing this has really changed my outlook on a lot of things because I have kind of tricked myself into focusing on all the things that I am fortunate enough to have opposed to focusing on all the things that I wish I had, but don’t. So below I have compiled a list of 5 things I am grateful for from all the ones I have written down this week, that I would like to share with you!

To have seen my best friend from high school and her family. Being that many of my friends from high school are in school, I don’t get the chance to see them every often, but my best friend Katie was on Spring Break and came back to LA and I could not have been more happy to see her and her family.

To have had the chance to go to TWO Los Angeles Kings games in one week. Katie and her family invited me to go to two kings games with them and of course I said yes. Although I don’t understand hockey and half the time I couldn’t see the puck we had a lovely dinner at the Staple Center and the energy of the crowd was absolutely electrifying. GO KINGS!

To have eaten my first Pupusa!  I had never heard of or seen a Pupusa before but my sister bought me one the other day and owe my word it was delicious. It is a  traditional Salvadoran dish made of a thick, handmade corn tortilla and it is absolutely delicious.

To have spent Saturday afternoon with my mother and sisters. Everyone in my family is always running around all over town so it is rare that we get to spend quality time together. But yesterday my mother, my sisters, and I all happened to be home at the same time and we ordered a pizza and just hung out really. It was lovely!

That I do not play organized sports anymore. OMG! I am so grateful for this. When I was younger I use to have three soccer games in one day and sometimes drive hours and hours, hopping from field to field to play in these games. I witnessed my sister do this yesterday morning and I can adamantly say that I am so grateful that, that part of my life is over. However, if you do play organized sports, more power to you! I just don’t think I have the stamina or upper body strength for that anymore.

That’s my list. Now I want to hear what you guys are grateful for and let me know if you liked this post because I was thinking about make it a series that I do every Sunday!

Hope you have a lovely day,

Krystal

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 5 Things I Am Grateful For This Week!

  1. Love this, so weird because it’s similar to what I think about when I think about what I am thankful for!
    I also had my first pupusa this week, and it was so yummy! I am always happy to see my friends, too. In addition, I am ALWAYS thankful that I stopped playing sports, both soccer and softball, and now the only exercise I get is dancing for hours downtown. It took up so much of my life and I loved it, but it’s nice to not sweat and be tired all day. I love being lazy!^^

    • moorekrystal says:

      Aren’t Pupusa’s incredible? I plan on eating them all the time now.
      I played soccer as well and I loved it but I’m glad its over. And being lazy is one of my favorite things to do as well 🙂

      Krystal

  2. MuaByNikki says:

    Love it! Grateful for the small things. Which matter the most!

  3. This was a lovely post and you have the right idea! We must be grateful for what we do have and all the simple little things because those are really what count in this thing we call life 🙂

  4. Dejhana says:

    I totally agree with the organized sports. What seemed easy in my teens feels like another world now,

    Dejhana || Waite a Little

    • moorekrystal says:

      Hahah right? When I was in school I was waking up at 6, going to school all day, and then sports after school with no problem and then homework after that. Now that sounds like an absolute nightmare I would never be able to successfully complete

  5. Jasmine says:

    So lovely this post! I also think that we should focus on all the things we have and not all we desire. I’m very grateful for my family, job, health…I’m your latest follower on bloglovin. I like your blog very much and I’d love if you guest post on mine (I have a section called “Bloggers I love”). If interested. please, e-mail me to forarealwoman@gmail.com

    Jasmine xx
    Get a $100 gift card for SaleServant
    For a Real Woman
    So easy Spanish!

  6. jjeebers says:

    I really like this post. Recently, I have been trying to focus more on the positives and beauty in life and so I like your gratitude journal. If you are having a bad day you can always go back to it and get perspective. About Pupusas…I live in Belize and we eat them all the time here. They are what they call part of fast food here. We like them a lot. Glad you got to experience them. One thing I am thankful for is reading your post. Thanks.

    • moorekrystal says:

      Thank you. That is such a sweet commet! I am happy to hear that someone else is actively trying to focus on the positive things in life. That is exactly what the gratitude journal is for.
      I had no idea that Pupusa’s in Belize were like the the burgers of America haha. I am very jealous! Thank you for stopping by my blog and feel free to check it out anytime! 🙂

      – Krystal

  7. Hi Krystal I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award on strandonbeauty.com

  8. Sharra says:

    krystal, I really enjoy your blogs and not because I’m your mother. They are truly inspirational. Continue to shine angel.

Leave a Reply

