“Girls” Captures the Simple Things

On Sunday nights episode of the HBO Series “Girls” the ending credits featured the song “Simple Things” by Miguel. I had heard the song before but I didn’t quite fall in love with it the way I did after I heard it this time.

The show closes with Hannah and Adam in a bathtub at a swanky hotel, a gift to Adam from Hannah, as a way to celebrate Adam landing a part in a Broadway play.

Hannah had earlier been convinced during an interview with Broadway legend Patti LuPone, that Adam would leave her because “Broadway is the most seductive of mistresses.” Hannah opens up to Adam about her new insecurity and he denounces her worries by telling her that she is the only girl he ever wants to be with. Melt. I don’t even find him attract but I melted away like the Wicked Witch of the West when I heard this line.

Hannah then asks Adam to act out lines from his play and after some momentary hesitation he recites a full monologue, in character, while lovingly swishing bubbles in her direction. 

The camera pans out, the screen goes black, and all you here is Miguel’s voice sing “I don’t need a model, I don’t need a movie star.” It is perfect and captivating and elegant and reaffirms my love for Lena Dunham and new love for Miguel.

Below is a video of the song I retrieved from Youtube. I do not own the rights to the song but simply would like to share the simplicity and beautiful melody with all those who are willing to listen.

The lyrics perfectly capture the essence of the scene by reiterating to the audience that neither Hannah or Adam cares about fame or money, they care about having good times together and they love they share for one another. That’s it. The simple things.

Hope you have a lovely weekend!

– Krystal

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Girls” Captures the Simple Things

  1. Wow what I coincidence, I just turned on the song and then I see your post! I love this song so much, and I’m so grateful that Girls introduced me to it! It’s beautiful. Great post, I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

