Happy Galentine’s Day: Because Single’s Love See’s Too

Tomorrow is the anniversary of the saddest day of the year for any single lady, Valentine’s Day! A holiday built around the concept of showing love and appreciation for your significant other, however, for those who do not have someone that they are lucky enough to call their “boo” this day can be just another reminder (as if mother is not worse enough) of how alone and single you truly are.

I am one of those singles that will not be boo-lovin come tomorrow. There is likely to be no chocolate with my name on it, no flowers sent to my office, and definitely no giant teddy bear clenching a red, stuffed, heart-shaped pillow waiting for me when I get home. But, I’m not too upset about it.

Admittedly, I cannot say that I will not be at least somewhat bitter when I, against my better judgment, scroll through my Instragram feed only to find filtered images from my wifed up sorority sisters who’ve received an assortment of Pinterest worthy Michael Kor’s charms and trinkets from their frat pride, future baby daddy’s. Not hatin, just sayin.

I like any girl wouldn’t mind a toy or two. A bracelet, necklace, or even earrings to add to my already unnecessarily extravagant collection, but am I really ready for everything that goes with it?

I have been in relationships that I have not ended well. Relationships are hard. They can lift you up higher than you could ever imagine and tear you from the seams moments later. They are roller coasters and can be really great to take a break from while learning to concentrate on bettering yourself and spending time with your friends instead.

To all those in a relationship may your Valentine’s Days be merry. True love is hard to come by and if you are lucky enough to find it then cherish it for what it is.

To all my single sister’s enjoy yo freedom, girl! I sure as hell have and I have also learned so much about myself while single that I don’t believe I would have learned otherwise. Enjoy the freedom to do what you please without having to worry about hurting anyone’s feelings but your own.

Valentine’s Day, like every other holiday is just another day that we have decided to put a name on.  A holiday that is sure to trigger profit increases for Hallmark and See’s Candy and a day to show love and appreciation for those closest to your heart. So please do so. Get lunch with your mom, have a Galentine’s Day with your friends (although according to  Parks and Rec its Feb 13th), and try not to get wrapped up in that other %#$@!

And I will leave you with some food for thought…..

SnapWidget | To all the single ladies.... Happy valentines day! BFF #quotes #sexandthecity

Think about it.

Thanks for reading! Thank you to Parks and Recs writers for the invention of Galentine’s Day and hope you all have a lovely day!

– Krystal

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

